Hong Kong Business Etiquette

 

New in town and not sure about Hong Kong’s business culture? Indeed, business practices in Hong Kong are unique and worth learning to help you fit in seamlessly. Whether it is the first greeting or at the dinner table, we share our tips for successful business dealings in this international, yet culturally rich city!

Greetings are the most important in making a good first impression in all cultures. Hong Kong is no different! And while not as strict as a place like Japan, it certainly has its protocols as well. To start, when greeting, Hong Kong businessmen tend to be bowed their head slightly, to signal a sign of respect. The Cantonese translation of “Hello, how are you?” is captured by two succinct words: 你好 (pronounced Lei - as in “lay” - Ho). Depending on your note, it can convey enthusiasm or deference. Additionally, a key part of Hong Kong business etiquette is the act of giving your business card and receiving it from others with two hands. Once the exchange is complete, you should keep the business cards you received on the table, in order to help you refer to their names when speaking to them. Keep this in mind especially for important client or partner meetings.

Yet, perhaps the most confusing aspect of Cantonese vernacular is the phrase “thank you”. Indeed, there are actually two ways to say thank you, respectively 吾該 (pronounced Ng Goi Sai - as in “koi with a g” and “tie with an s”) and 多謝 (pronounced Do Che – as in “doll without the l sound” and “Che in Check”). The nuances between the two can be confusing even to locals, so do not worry about getting it right away, your business partners will certainly appreciate your willingness to attempt them. Essentially, Ng Goi Sai is the more casual thank you, for when someone brings you a glass of water or pulls out the chair for you. Meanwhile, Do Che is a more formal thank you, for when someone gives you a gift or when they do a favor for you that you particularly appreciate. To emphasize the gratitude, you can combine it with the head bow to make it more deferential and appreciative.

Doing business in Hong Kong also involves the all-important dinner table. Hong Kongers love to get down to business during a meal, as it is a great opportunity to get to know each other better, and you’ll be sure to impress if you can master these small tips during the meal. Of course, there are several rules surrounding the often-dreaded chopsticks. First, at more formal restaurants, you will often be given two pairs of chopsticks. Hong Kong dining etiquette dictates that the outside chopsticks are for serving oneself or others, while the chopsticks closer to the plate is for eating. Second, it is considered poor form to point at someone with your chopsticks – this is quite possibly the most important business dining etiquette to keep in mind. Third, it is not a big deal at all if you are not yet familiar with the art of chopsticks. Instead of forcing yourself through it, we recommend getting the standard fork and knife. It will make your life easier, and you can use your energy to focus on building the relationship you have with them instead!

Lastly, we would be remiss if we did not mention a TV commercial HSBC did a while ago, in which the foreigner was served a dish of fish that looked unappetizing to him. Thinking it would be rude for him not to finish it, he gulped it down, much to the chagrin of his hosts, who ordered a bigger dish of fish, and so on and so forth. The reason behind this is that in the East, there is certainly a concept that a gracious host orders more than the table needs, so don’t force yourself to finish all of the food if you’ve had enough!

Ultimately, when doing business in Hong Kong, respect for others is the overarching principle. Conduct yourself in a respectful manner to others and you are sure to make a positive impression. Coupled with these etiquette tips, you should be able to succeed in Hong Kong’s business culture, setting you up for bigger fish – no pun intended!

 

DISCLAIMER

All information contained in this website, including but not limited to the photographs, floor plans, drawings, perspectives, models and description, is for illustration or reference only. The details and particulars set out in the Tenancy Agreement or Hotel Licence Agreement shall prevail over such information as stated in the website. The owner/developer reserves the right to modify, change the design, specifications, features, floor plans, size of each unit, materials and the intended use of the material without prior notice.

香港商务礼仪

刚来香港,对香港的商业文化不太了解? 事实上,香港的商业惯例是独一无二的,值得学习,以帮助您无缝融入其中。 无论是初次问候还是在餐桌上,我们都将分享在这座国际化但文化底蕴丰厚的城市里成功开展业务的秘诀!

在所有文化中,问候都是给人留下良好第一印象的重要因素。 香港也不例外! 虽然不像日本那样严格,但它当然也有自己的礼仪。 首先,在问候时,香港商人往往会略微点下头,以示敬意。“你好,你好吗?”是两个简洁的词语:你好(發音為Lei-如“ lay”-Ho)。据您的语气,它可以传达热情或尊敬。此外,香港商务礼仪的一个关键部分就是用双手递名片和接收对方给予你的名片的行为。 交换完成后,您应该将收到的名片保留在桌面上,以便在与他们交谈时帮助您查询他们的名字。 请记住这一点,尤其是在重要的客户或合作伙伴会议上。

然而,粤语方言最令人困惑的地方也许是「谢谢」一词。 确实,实际上有两种表达谢意的方式,分别是吾该哂(发音为Ng Goi Sai  - 如“koi with ag”和“tie with an s”)和多谢(发音为Do Che  - 如同“Doll没有 l声音和Che in Check”)。 两者之间的细微差别甚至可能让当地人感到困惑,所以不要担心马上学懂它,您的商业伙伴肯定会感谢您愿意尝试。 从本质上说,「吾该哂」是比较随意的谢谢你,当有人给你端上一杯水或为你拉出椅子。 与此同时,「多谢」是一个更正式的感谢,当有人给您礼物或他们帮了一个你特别感激的忙。 为了强调感激之情,你可以将它与点头结合起来,使之更加礼貌和恭敬。

在香港做生意也涉及到最重要的餐桌礼仪。香港人喜欢在吃饭的时候商谈业务,因为这是一个加深彼此了解的好机会,如果您能在用餐时掌握这些小小的窍门,一定会给人留下深刻的印象。当然,对于那些经常让人害怕的筷子,也有一些规则。首先,在比较正式的餐厅,通常会给你两双筷子。香港的用餐礼仪规定,外面的筷子是给自己或他人服务的,而靠近盘子的筷子是用来进食的。其次,用筷子指着别人被认为是不礼貌的行为 - 这很可能是最重要的商务餐饮礼仪。第三,如果你还不熟悉筷子的艺术,这根本不是什么大问题。我们建议使用标准的叉子和刀子,而不是强迫自己。这将使您的生活更轻松,并且您可以将精力专注于建立与他们的关系!

最后,汇丰银行做过的电视广告,片中外国人获得了一盘看上去不太开胃的鱼。 他认为不把牠吃完是不礼貌的,于是他把鱼狼吞虎咽的吃了下去,这让他的东道主感到懊恼,他们点了更大的一碟鱼,他吃完东道主又再点。 这背后的原因是,在东方,有一个概念,一个亲切的主人点的菜肯定比实际用餐需要的多,所以如果你已经饱了,不要强迫自己吃完所有的食物!

归根结底,在香港经商时,尊重他人是首要原则。 以尊重他人的方式行事,一定会给人留下积极的印象。 结合这些礼节技巧,您应该能够在香港的商业文化中取得成功,为您成就更大的事业(setting you up for bigger fish) - 没有任何双关语!

免责声明

本网站上包含的所有信息(包括但不限於图片、平面佈置图、图样、透视图、模型及其描述)仅供参考。相关部分以租赁协议或酒店许可协议中所列举的详细信息为準。业主/开发商保留对其进行修饰并改变其设计、规格、特徵、平面佈置图、各项装置的尺寸、材料、材料预期用途的权利,且前述权利的行使无需任何事先通知。