Staying Connected in Hong Kong

 

How to Stay Connected in Hong Kong

 

Hong Kong is a city that runs at a million miles an hour, and visitors often find this a little intimidating at first. Thankfully, modern technology can go a long way in smoothing out the adjustment process. Follow our recommendations to discover how to stay connected in Hong Kong and find out useful local apps to install that will make your stay in Hong Kong easier as well as more exciting!
 
 

Tourist SIM Cards

 

The best way to get online as soon as possible is to buy a prepaid Hong Kong Tourist SIM card upon arrival. There are several travel SIM cards on offer in Hong Kong, such as the Prepaid Discover Hong Kong Tourist SIM Card with 3 day (HKD$88/1.5 GB) or 5 day (HKD$118/5GB) plans that allow you to access the internet with 4G speed. These tourist SIMs also come with unlimited local voice calling so you can book a reservation at a restaurant or order a taxi. With a travel SIM card, there is no need to subscribe to any plan to enjoy 24/7 connectivity. Tourist SIM Cards are available at any local convenience store (such as 7-Eleven and Circle K) and at 1O1O mobile network operator stores. For travelers heading to Macau, Mainland China or Taiwan, tourist SIM cards in Hong Kong conveniently provide optional extension packages for coverage in these regions.
 
 

Pocket WiFi Rental

 

To enjoy internet access on your laptop as well as your mobile phone, you may also want to rent pocket WiFi from any China Mobile Hong Kong branch (CMHK). With the use of pocket WiFi rental, you will have unlimited WiFi access for the price of around HKD$60 a day. Please note that the minimum rental period is 1 day and the maximum rental period is 14 days. Renting a pocket WiFi device also requires a HKD$1,500 deposit. Simply pick up your pocket WiFi at the Hong Kong International Airport and return it to any CMHK store in town! 
If you are looking for CMHK pocket WiFi rental points, two of them are located near V Causeway Bay and V Wan Chai at G/F, 70 Percival Street, Causeway Bay and G/F, Mei Wah Building, 162 Johnston Road, Wan Chai.
 
 

Useful Local Apps

 

Hong Kong locals love using mobile apps to figure out the best spots in town to eat, shop and more. Here are our top five app recommendations that help you experience the city like a local:
 
 

 

OpenRice:

 

OpenRice is a restaurant guide website launched in Hong Kong, which has since grown to track restaurants all over Asia. It is our most preferred platform as it is intensively used by locals, which means that reviews are much more frequent and even the smallest hole-in-the-wall restaurants in Hong Kong get noticed. Our favorite feature is its “Queue in Advance” feature, so that even if restaurants don’t take a booking, you can save time and get a ticket before arriving at restaurants.
 
 

 

MTR:

 

MTR is how a majority of Hong Kongers get around the city, so suffice to say an app that tracks schedules is invaluable. Use the Train Trip Planner to check fares or search for shortest route if you aren’t sure how to get to a particular station. The app also features a guide to station facilities such as convenient stores or information centers. Most importantly, the app shows live traffic information, so that you can reroute your trip if a serious delay or special service arrangements occur. For this reason, this app is used by locals and visitors alike. 
 
 

 

Enjoy Hiking: 

 

An app launched by the Hong Kong government, this nifty app provides a collection of suggested hikes at your fingertips. While the interface may not be the most updated, it is always helpful to have a trail map at your side no matter which hike you’re on. It also provides worthy information regarding mobile coverage on those hikes as well as advice on selecting hiking equipment and planning a trip. 
 
Beanhunter: 
Not limited to Hong Kong, this specialty coffee locater finds the best coffee near you. It’s like OpenRice, but just for coffee. We love it because it only includes boutique, independent coffee shops, so expect to be surprised each time. Coffees are rated and reviewed constantly, which makes the ratings quite reliable. 
 
 

 

HK Weather:

 

This simple app draws from Hong Kong Observatory and Environmental Protection Department for live weather information. It also includes relative humidity (an important thing to know in Hong Kong!), wind direction, and any impending typhoons. 
 
Now that you’re connected, it’s time to install the city’s favourite and most useful mobile applications. Find out which apps you can find on nearly every resident’s phone here, and experience living like a local. 

 

DISCLAIMER

All information contained in this website, including but not limited to the photographs, floor plans, drawings, perspectives, models and description, is for illustration or reference only. The details and particulars set out in the Tenancy Agreement or Hotel Licence Agreement shall prevail over such information as stated in the website. The owner/developer reserves the right to modify, change the design, specifications, features, floor plans, size of each unit, materials and the intended use of the material without prior notice.

在香港上网
在香港上网
香港是一个瞬息万变的城市,旅客一开始经常觉得这有点吓人。值得庆幸的是,现代科技可以在适应过程中发挥很大作用。按照我们的建议,了解如何在香港上网,并找到有用的本地App,这将使您的香港之旅轻松愉快!
 
旅客sim卡
尽快上网的最佳方式是在抵达时购买预付的SIM卡。香港提供多种旅游SIM卡,例如预缴费用的香港任纵横储值卡,3天(HKD $ 88 / 1.5 GB)或5天(HKD $ 118 / 5GB)计划,可以用4G速度上网。这些旅游SIM卡还提供无限制的本地语音通话,因此您可以在餐馆订桌或预约的士。使用旅行SIM卡,无需订购任何计划即可享受全天候连线。旅游SIM卡可在任何当地便利店(如7-Eleven和Circle K)和1O1O移动网络运营商商店购买。对于前往澳门,中国大陆或台湾的旅客,香港的旅游SIM卡可方便地为这些地区提供可选的延伸套餐。
 
租用便携式WIFI热点
要在您的笔记本电脑和手机上上网,可以考虑在任何一家中国移动香港分行(CMHK)租用便携式WiFi。使用便携式WiFi租赁服务无限制地使用WiFi价格约为每天60港元。请注意,最短租期为1天,最长租期为14天。租用便携式WiFi设备也需要1,500港币的按金。只需在香港国际机场领取您的便携式WiFi,用完后到任何CMHK商店将其归还即可!
如果您正在寻找CMHK口袋WiFi租赁点,其中两家分店位于铜锣湾波斯富街70号地下铜锣湾V住宅附近,及湾仔V住宅附近的湾仔庄士道162号美华大厦地下。

方便的本地APP
香港人喜欢使用APP来找地方吃饭购物。以下是我们推荐的五大APP,可帮助您像当地人一样体验这座城市:
 
OpenRice:
OpenRice是一家在香港推出的餐馆指南网站,该网站已发展成为亚洲各地的餐馆指南。这是我们最喜欢的平台,因为它被当地人广泛使用,这意味着评论更频繁,即使是香港最小的餐馆也会受到关注。我们最喜欢的功能是它的“提前排队”功能,即使餐馆不接受预订,您也可以在到达餐馆之前节省排队时间。
 
港铁(MTR):
香港地铁是香港的主要交通工具,所以一个实时显示列车班次的APP非常方便。如果您不确定如何到达特定车站,请使用铁路行程指南检查票价或搜索最短路线。 APP上还提供车站设施如便利店或信息中心的地图。最重要的是,该APP显示实时交通信息,以便您可以在出现严重延误或特殊服务安排时改变安排,所以本地人和旅客都使用这个APP.
 
郊野乐行
这个小巧的APP是由香港政府推出的,提供一系列的建议交友路径。虽然界面可能不是最新的,但无论你在哪一条郊游径,带上地图总是有帮助的。它还提供有关这些郊游径讯号覆盖等游泳的资讯,以及有关选择远足设备和规划旅行的建议。
 
Beanhunter: 
不仅限于香港,这个特色咖啡的APP可以找到您附近最好的咖啡。它就像咖啡版的OpenRice。我们喜欢它,因为它只列举精品店和独立咖啡店,每每都为我们带来惊喜。咖啡经过不断评级和评审,评级非常可靠。
 
香港天文台APP:
这个简单的应用程序来自香港天文台和环境保护署,提供实时天气资讯。它还包括相对湿度(在香港需要了解的重要事项!),风向和即将来临的台风之资讯。
 
现在您已经在线,是时候安装香港最喜欢和最有用的App了。下载每个居民手机上都能找到的App,体验像当地人一样的生活。

 

免责声明

本网站上包含的所有信息(包括但不限於图片、平面佈置图、图样、透视图、模型及其描述)仅供参考。相关部分以租赁协议或酒店许可协议中所列举的详细信息为準。业主/开发商保留对其进行修饰并改变其设计、规格、特徵、平面佈置图、各项装置的尺寸、材料、材料预期用途的权利,且前述权利的行使无需任何事先通知。