The Octopus Card: Where, Why & How to Use it

The people of Hong Kong are constantly on the move. To combat this, the city is home to one of the most advanced and efficient public transportation networks in the world. At the center of this is the Octopus Card: Hong Kong’s innovative contactless smart card, that can be used to make electronic payments across the city. The Octopus card, or 八達通 (“baat daat tung”) as the locals call it, has become an icon of Hong Kong, with almost all residents using it. As a convenient and time-saving payment method, we recommend anyone staying in Hong Kong for more than a few days to jump on the bandwagon and get themselves an Octopus Card. 

 

 

Where to Use your Octopus Card

 

Pioneered in Hong Kong and mirrored in London (Oyster Card) and most American cities, the Hong Kong Octopus Card is a contactless travel card which was initially designed to provide access to Hong Kong’s public transport with a simple tap of the card. The card can be used on all public transportation systems; the subway (MTR), buses, minibuses, ferries and trams. You can even hop on the train to Shenzhen, China, with an Octopus card. 

Apart from providing access to public transport facilities, the Octopus Card now serves a number of other purposes, such as paying at parking meters, vending machines, photo booths and  convenience stores. Other stores which accept the card include PARKnSHOP and Wellcome Supermarkets, health and beauty stores Watson and Mannings, fast food restaurants such as McDonalds, Cafe de Coral, Delifrance and KFC, as well as the Hong Kong Jockey Club. The list of merchants accepting Octopus Card payment is ever expanding, however, as you will see on the Octopus official website. 


 

Buying Your Octopus Card

 

The price of Hong Kong’s Octopus card is HK$150, which is inclusive of a HK$50 refundable deposit and HK$100 credit. You can pick up a card at any MTR subway station. Tourists can conveniently purchase an Octopus card at Hong Kong Airport, at the Airport Express Counter. Here you can pick up one of the two types of special Octopus cards for tourists, priced at HK$220 and HK$300, which include Airport Express fare(s) and three days of unlimited MTR rides. The Tourist Octopus Card can be returned to the Airport Express Counter in Hong Kong Airport at the end of your trip, and the HK$50 deposit and any remaining credit will be refunded. 


 

Using & Topping Up

 

The Octopus card couldn’t be simpler to use. You wave your Octopus Card over the clearly indicated designated readers as you alight on and off public transport, aside from trams (where you only tap your card when getting off), and buses (where you only tap your card as you get on). A note on buses and trams often the fares on these transportation methods are amounts that are nearly impossible to pay in exact. However, operators do not provide any change, so you are more likely than not to pay an amount that exceeds the actual fare if you pay in cash. Here an Octopus card could come in handy, as only the exact fare amount will be deducted when you tap your card. 

You can ‘overdraw’ your Octopus Card by a maximum of HK$35. The outstanding debit will be calculated and deducted the next time you top up. To check how much credit you have left, all you have to do is to tap your card on the Balance Check machines inside MTR stations, where you can also recharge your card to store up to HK$1,000 using cash when your balance is low. Note that the top-up machines inside the MTR stations only accept HK$100 and HK$50 bank notes. Bank notes of other values are accepted at the customer service counters inside MTR stations. You can also top up at convenience stores, supermarkets or through most NFC enabled Android devices. 

 

Overall, the Octopus Card is definitely an essential for those living in or visiting Hong Kong. Whether you are a recurring business visitor, a new resident or a tourist: the Octopus Card lets you save time at stores and public transport so that you can make the most of your time in the city.

For additional information or assistance with buying and using the Octopus Card, please contact your concierge at the V.

DISCLAIMER

All information contained in this website, including but not limited to the photographs, floor plans, drawings, perspectives, models and description, is for illustration or reference only. The details and particulars set out in the Tenancy Agreement or Hotel Licence Agreement shall prevail over such information as stated in the website. The owner/developer reserves the right to modify, change the design, specifications, features, floor plans, size of each unit, materials and the intended use of the material without prior notice.

八达通的前世今生

 

八达通的前世今生

香港车水马龙,人流络绎不绝,所以本市的公共交通网络是全世界最先进和高效率的公共交通网络之一。香港创新的免触碰智能卡电子付费系统八达通正是交通网络的核心。八达通是香港特色,几乎所有居民都使用。为了方便省时,我们建议任何在香港逗留超过几天的人和香港居民一样使用八达通。


哪里可以使用八达通?

香港八达通卡是香港首创,并获伦敦(Oyster Card)和大多数美国城市模仿,是一张免触碰旅行卡,最初设计希望可以轻轻一碰就能轻松使用香港的公共交通工具。该卡可用于所有公共交通系统,包括地铁(MTR),巴士,小巴,渡轮和电车(叮叮)。您甚至可以用八达通乘搭火车前往深圳。

除了公共交通工具外,八达通现在还有其他用途,例如在停车收费表,自动售货机,自助证件快照机和便利店付款。百佳和惠康超市,健康和美容店如屈臣氏和万宁,快餐店如麦当劳,大家乐,Delifrance和肯德基,以及香港赛马会等商店或机构都接受八达通付款。接受八达通卡付款的商家不断增加,欲知详情请参考八达通官方网站上的名单。


购买八达通卡

香港八达通卡的价格为150港币,包括50港币可退还按金及100港币之增值额。您可以在任何港铁地铁站购买八达通。旅客也可以在香港机场机场快线柜台方便地购买八达通卡。在这里旅客可以购买两种特殊的八达通卡,价格分别为220港元和300港元,其中包括机场快线票价和三天无限乘搭地铁。旅游八达通卡可以在旅行结束时于香港机场的机场快线柜台退还,按金及八达通余额将全数退款。


使用和增值

八达通卡使用起来十分简单。当你在公共交通工具上车下车时,除了有轨电车(下车时拍卡)和巴士(上车时拍卡)之外,你可以在显眼处的读卡器上扫描八达通卡。请注意,巴士和电车的收费很难准确地支付。但是由于运营商不设找零,所以用现金就很有可能多付点钱。此时此刻八达通就很方便,可以准确支付金额,无需找零。

八达通最多可以透支”35港元。透支金额将会在下次增值时计算并抵消。在地铁站内的余额检查机上拍卡就可以查看八达通余额,余额不足时您可以用现金为您的卡增值不多于1000港币。请注意,地铁站内的增值机只接受面额为100港元和50港元的纸币。在地铁站内的客户服务柜台则接受其他面值之纸币。您也可以在便利店,超市或大多数支持近场通信的安卓设备上充值。


基本上八达通对于在香港的旅客和居民而言是必需品。无论您是经常性的商务访客,新居民还是旅客:八达通卡都可以让您节省花在商店和公共交通工具上的时间,这样您就可以充分利用在港的时间。

有关购买和使用八达通卡的其他信息或帮助,请联系The V 礼宾部。

 

免责声明

本网站上包含的所有信息(包括但不限於图片、平面佈置图、图样、透视图、模型及其描述)仅供参考。相关部分以租赁协议或酒店许可协议中所列举的详细信息为準。业主/开发商保留对其进行修饰并改变其设计、规格、特徵、平面佈置图、各项装置的尺寸、材料、材料预期用途的权利,且前述权利的行使无需任何事先通知。